Notices

User Tag List

Thread: Calling Crasher-I'm desperate now!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
  1. Calling Crasher-I'm desperate now! 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    I really need to get my car fixed, I have been messing around with this fault for over 2 years and I have to sell the car. I have tried all the common things to no avail. Reminder of fault; car starts first time every time from cold, runs for some 15 to 30 mins then cuts out and wont start again until it has cooled down for at least 30 mins. It never had this fault until I changed the old (BERU) coil which had definitely failed, fit it to the car and it won't start at all. I have just fitted a new Hella coil instead of the Delphi one, fault is exactly the same. ECU relay is a genuine VW German part and has been renewed, and am ruling this out because it also supplies power to the MAF sensor, and I have connected my meter to the supply side of the MAF and it stays solid at 14V right up to and after the engine dies. Crank sensor has been changed and fault is exactly the same, so can't see 2 sensors failing in same way. Tools I have at my disposal are; top quality multimeter, top quality oscilloscope, laptop with VCDS lite installed. Just tried another key which is original VW one, exactly the same. I think perfect steady voltage at MAF rules out ignition switch. If it was your car, what would you try next? Look at ECU outputs possibly?

0 0 0

2. Re: Calling Crasher-I'm desperate now! 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    60 Post(s)
    Two of the very most common problems on this is a faulty starter when warm Or a crank sensor goes open circuit when but starts when it cools down . can you post up your engine code or reg no

0 0 0

3. Re: Calling Crasher-I'm desperate now! 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted