1. Question A4 B7 brakes judder 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I drive Seat Exeo 2.0 TDI 170 Lux (rebranded A4 B7). 2009, lovely car, an excellent very relaxed and quiet cruiser with plenty of power when I need it. Kind of a noob here, please be gentle.

Four years since installed front Brembo brake disks and rotors; after 50K miles they still have plenty of life (30%-40%?) on both. Unfortunately there is an issue with them which seems to get slightly worse every year.

• I can feel a gentle judder while braking.
    • The right front rotor is slightly warmer then the left (5-10C?)
    • The right rotor has lost a couple of mm more than the left

My garage recommends to get the full set of the new calipers, rotors and pads, quoted £700 which seems to be excessive. After a quick chat about the price they suggested that I could also wait till it gets worse.

I wonder if anyone can explain to me the implications of not fixing it now.
    • Is it a safety issue?
    • Can the judder eventually damage other parts of the suspension?
    • Do I have to replaces rotors and pads anyway or maybe replacing/cleaning calipers is enough?

A noob here, please be gentle .

0 0 0

2. Re: A4 B7 brakes judder 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    108 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1816 Post(s)
    When the DISCS are removed, they need to check the runout of the hub does not exceed 0.03mm
    Anthropogenic climate change, the biggest con inflicted on mankind since religion...

Slava Ukraini
    !

0 0 0

3. Re: A4 B7 brakes judder 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Crasher View Post
    When the DISCS are removed, they need to check the runout of the hub does not exceed 0.03mm
    Thanks a lot. Google for what you said, makes total sense now, I've learned something new.