Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Hi guys,

I have been browsing the web and the forum here trying to get as much info as I can. Please also bear in mind that I am new to all this!

I have a Y reg Passat, done approx 160k miles!

As with many other people, suddenly one day after hitting about 60mph, my turbo stopped working. So now it works fine up till around 3k revs, then you can feel it cut back. So the max I seem to get is 50 when it seems to stop. What I have done is:

1) I changed the air filter and oil/fuel filter on the car. - no difference
    2) I thought it might be the MAF sensor, so I unplugged it. From 0 - 3k revs, it seems to be worse. But from 50mph/3k revs + it seems to be the same as it was when the MAF sensor was plugged in.
    3) I tried checking the pipes that I could, and I found that one of the rubber hoses, attached to the turbo ( Z shaped ) has holes in it. So i replaced this but I still have the same issue.

4) My friend has some kind of VAG com software, so before I switch on the engine I get the codes 18062 & 17965. I believe the later code, points towards the pipes, N75 or sticky turbo.

I have been told that it could be a faulty MAF sensor, however as it doesn't appear on VAG-com, I am reluctant to change it. Mind you it hasnt developed a fault for over 3 years now. The car has not been modded in any way either.

I did take it down to my local garage, who said they fitted it to their computer. However they could see the problem, however they couldnt actually fix it. So they referred me to a VW dealer. However I currently don't feel like donating my arm & leg to fund that cost at this moment of time.

Any suggestion guys ?

0 0 0

2. Re: Limp Mode 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what did the garage say it was?
    first time i was up a ladder i was down a well
    4th cog,--two to go

0 0 0