1. Spinning Shroud on locking wheel nut 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Hi - My locking wheel nut key/socket broke whilst trying to undo an over tightened nut. I've removed locking wheel nuts in the past with sockets but... these ones have rotating shrouds on them. (VW Sport Rader)

Can any one advise me on how to remove them.

Any help would be much appreciated - - Cheers guys!

(I'm not a mechanic or anything, so dont have things like mig welders.. local tyre bay suggested fusing the shroud and nut together... but easier said than done)

0 0 0

2. Re: Spinning Shroud on locking wheel nut 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Start with a small drill bit in the centre, and work ya way up to around 10mm, then as you get further in, you'l end up drilling the threaded bit out, worst that will happen is that you may slightly damage the thread on the hub but its nothing a carefully inserted new wheel nut cant repair i bought a 106 xsi with no locking wheel nut keys and needed 2 new tyres, so spent around 4 hours very slowly drillin it, try to get the centre if you can, if you press too hard, you'l blunt the drill..

HTH

0 0 0

3. Re: Spinning Shroud on locking wheel nut 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by HGTTDI View Post
    Hi - My locking wheel nut key/socket broke whilst trying to undo an over tightened nut. I've removed locking wheel nuts in the past with sockets but... these ones have rotating shrouds on them. (VW Sport Rader)

(I'm not a mechanic or anything, so dont have things like mig welders.. local tyre bay suggested fusing the shroud and nut together... but easier said than done)