1. Thumbs up B7 Towbar advice 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi guys, I'm going to fit a Tow bar to my B7 Estate 2011, with parking sensors.
    i previously fitted a tow with electrics to my B6, but as I didn't used it that regular I wired my tail light into a fused ignition live so they were on all the time, I didn't bothered to set up the ECU either.
    So to that end I want to do it right this time!

What is the score for wiring in the single electrics, is it the same as the B6?
    What extra wiring do I need to wire in, eg, wiring to the front?
    What the score with Parking Sensors?
    How much can I do myself, I'm a mechanic in the British Army, so pretty handy, will it just be the ECU set up I need.
    Cheers
    Kelv

0 0 0

2. Re: B7 Towbar advice 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi Kelv,

I take it that this is a Passat and not an A4. You have the same 2 options for the wiring. There is universal wiring which is the cheapest, needs to be spliced into the vehicles wiring but perfectly safe or you could go for dedicated wiring which is a kit made for the vehicle (like the genuine kit) so it mostly plugs straight in and will enable any settings the vehicle has for example switch off parking sensors or activate trailer stability.
    Once the dedicated kit is installed it would need a software update via a VAGCOM or some other coding tools. With your background you will have the ability to do either as the dedicated wiring kits come with full instructions.
    We stock many brands of towbars and wiring kits including Westfalia (O.E to VAG)
    If you'd like a quote for the towbar and wiring give us a call on 0161 886 5796 we wont be beaten on price.

Thanks Adam
    PF Jones Towbars | National Mobile Towbar Fitting | Audi Towbars