Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi everyone,

I'm new to VWs with my first ever - a Passat 1.9 TDi 2001 100HP model. It's got a few problems I want to put right if anyone could help please?

1. Not much power, especially when going even slightly uphill. Can drop to 3rd and floor it but it won't go any faster, such as when doing 40mph and road inclined slightly, could not go faster. I'm assuming no turbo boost or limp home mode perhaps brought on by excessive boost? I have seen no smoke at all under any conditions so far. I connected a manometer and a vacuum pump to one of the vacuum lines this evening in the dark quickly and pulled a vacuum which instantly disappeared so assuming this isn't right and I have split pipes or something? The glowplug dash light is not lit or flashing or anything. I've also read that AMM or MAP sensor failure can cause this fault?

2. The trip computer that shows MPG, etc., on the dash display and is controlled using the up and down buttons on the wiper stalk keeps freezing on one setting, and will not respond to the buttons to toggle through the different readings. It's got worse lately and now freezes on a setting the moment I press either button.

3. When I start the car, there is a loud beeping that lasts a couple of seconds after it starts. What is that about?

4. For the first time today, after parking the car and returning to it a few minutes later, the engine caught on the turn of the key then instantly died. It did this twice before catching properly. Any ideas?

5. A pipe had split completely that connected to a device with a little plastic arm going to a large pipe which I believe is an inlet manifold flap controlling air flow into the intake manifold? I didn't think diesels controlled airflow into the engine? No difference now I cut the split section out, but then I may have neglible vacuum on any of the vacuum pipe side if my test tonight is accurate.