Notices

User Tag List

Thread: 1st Gear stall - TDI 2.0 (110)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Question 1st Gear stall - TDI 2.0 (110) 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi all,

Newbie here, collected my used 2009 Golf TDI 2.0 (110) on Saturday, and loving it so far. First time I've spent a bit on a car, after previously having company cars + Corsa and Focus (all diesels).

Anyway - The missus and I have both already stalled this car 3 or 4 times now when pulling off in 1st gear. This is probably more than I have in the past 5 years! Embarrassingly, I did it on the hill of a Roundabout when turning off the M1 at rush hour yesterday. There I was, stalled at the lights when green....cue tooting annoyed drivers behind me....

This morning, I therefore started to give it a lot more revs when starting to move, and I can see that when its revved up quite a bit, its ok, and also that I need to ride the clutch a lot more than all my previous diesels. All I'm thinking is, this may make winter driving a bit tricky when I want to do slower, easier starts on hills in snow/ice?

Are they all like this? I'm assuming I'll slowly adapt, but having always driven diesels for 10 years, I'm finding this one a lot more difficult just with the 1st gear.

0 0 0

2. Re: 1st Gear stall - TDI 2.0 (110) 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I think you just need time to adjust to the car tbh - try setting the seat either back abit more or higher. This should help make taking your foot off the clutch smoother IMO.
    Had MKV GTI, Now Ford Falcon

1 0 0

3. Re: 1st Gear stall - TDI 2.0 (110) 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)