1. Wiring for towbar query 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have been chasing around the local towbar installers and it looks as though there is a choice of wiring methods. There is the cheap where the older normal method of using Scotchlocks is used, or utilising a VW wiring loom to just plug in to the car's system. I have been given the understanding that this second method requires me to then go to the VW dealer to have the system reprogrammed for something like £100.

Since I am an old newbie (who has fitted towbars and the electrics in the dim and distant past), I have no experience of the recent developments in wiring techniques and systems.

So, since I only need to pull a trailer, will the cheap way be satisfactory or will there be issues I ought to be aware of?

0 0 0

2. Re: Wiring for towbar query 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by arizmanor View Post
    I have been chasing around the local towbar installers and it looks as though there is a choice of wiring methods. There is the cheap where the older normal method of using Scotchlocks is used, or utilising a VW wiring loom to just plug in to the car's system. I have been given the understanding that this second method requires me to then go to the VW dealer to have the system reprogrammed for something like £100.

Since I am an old newbie (who has fitted towbars and the electrics in the dim and distant past), I have no experience of the recent developments in wiring techniques and systems.

So, since I only need to pull a trailer, will the cheap way be satisfactory or will there be issues I ought to be aware of?
    Hi ArizManor,

You are right there is a choice, you have the option of splicing the electrics with scotch locks as you said, the next option is the plug-in wiring kits