1. ECU Remapping (1.9TDI) 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hey, (Car = Audi A4 1998 1.9 TDi 110 FWD)

I'm just wondering if anyone here has any experience with remapping their own A4 1.9TDI? - I was thinking of buying the VAG COM cable and play around with a few parameters with the VAG COM software. Is it really this easy, though?

I was hoping to get that extra power without having to fork out the hundreds that ECU-ReMappers charge. Perhaps, make some money of my own by giving my friend's the map that I make (If it's successful).

Could anyone share some vital information on this please? Thanks.

Also, the engine shakes like crazy when I accelerate somewhat hard in 1st, 2nd and a little bit of 3rd. So I'm assuming that one or some of the mounts on the gearbox/engine are wearing. Is this common with the B5 A4's? I've only owned my a few weeks or so, I have limited experience on these cars.

Thanks.

0 0 0

2. Re: ECU Remapping (1.9TDI) 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi mate,
    people pay lots of money for the obvious reason.. Yes you could prob get a cheap map from somewhere but how good will it be...basically it wont be, we remap quite a few cars that have been remapped "cheaply" it really isn't as easy as you think.

0 0 0

3. Re: ECU Remapping (1.9TDI) 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Welcome to VWAF.

First things first:

You cannot remap a 1998 1.9TDi 110.

You cannot make any changes to any ECU map with VAG-COM (now known as VCDS).

I'd wager that as you didn't know those two fundamental pieces of information you are on the road to failure.

May I also suggest that you fix whatever mechanical issues you have with your car before you dream of making any modifications, particularly any that might increase the power.

0 0 0