1. Question T4 Diesel mechanic?! 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Why can't I find a mechanic who can tell me what's wrong with my T4? I have a tappetty engine which is getting more clattery and is now losing power at 70mph+. I suspect the tappets AND perhaps a timing belt problem, but I'm no mechanic and don't know what a 2.5TDi is supposed to sound like!

Does anyone know of a Veedoubleyouphile in West Sussex? Are you such a person? 'Normal' mechanics can't seem to be able to help, short of stripping the head and seeing what happens.

I've changed the oil and filter to no avail

PS, I'm not so much looking for ideas on what the problem is, but rather a garage in my area that you would recommend ringing. before valve meets piston...

0 0 0

2. Re: T4 Diesel mechanic?! 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    22 Post(s)
    the vacuum pump could be responsible for thr noise. ive known these to sound close to death. locate the brake servo and follow the plastic pipe back to the engine, where it plugs into the vac pump. remove the pipe and squirt some oil (wd40 etc) into the pump. if this cures the noise, jobs a goodun. if not,. the power loss could be unrelated, so a fault code read would be a good starting point for that.
    Audi 80 tdi avant with 360,000 miles...

1 0 0

3. Re: T4 Diesel mechanic?! 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)