1. Is it just the Turbo? 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi there. I'm new to this but in desperate need for some advice.
    In September last year I bought my Dads ex-Taxi off him cheap. Skoda Octavia 1.9 TDI 130bhp 6 speed '04 115k miles. He'd really looked after it being an ex mechanic, and I was well chuffed with it.
    A month ago I noticed a very slight juddering when accelerating hard in higher gears at low revs. This gradually got a lot worse over the next week. My Dad and his mechanic mate suspected it was a driveshaft problem, but it was then that I started to experience power loss. It was always at its most noticable again in gears 4, 5 and 6. when accelerating slowly in the high gears the power delivery seemed very on off, on off, in very quick succession. When accelerating hard it is very under powered and there is a noticable amount of black smoke from the exhaust. The juddering by this time was very bad when accelerating hard from low revs, worst in 6th gear but wasn't at all appareent when driving conservatively.
    As you've probably noticed I have continued driving it, but very conservatively. It has been getting less powerfull the more I drive it, and consequently the juddering has lessened. I eventually took it to a Skoda dealership where they did diagnostics and my worst fears came true. They found no fault with the injectors or drivehaft, check timing marks all ok, carried out test plan for turbo and found it to be faulty and quoted me near £1,000 to fit a new one.
    I just can't afford that.

Does this sound like it is just the turbo ?
    Could it be something on top of that?
    Should I have been given some fault codes?
    Is there a way to find out whats exactly wrong with the turbo to get it fixed?
    Thanks for reading . Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Cheers. Smevin

0 0 0

2. Re: Is it just the Turbo? 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned