Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hello everyone,

Must excuse me. I'm a car novice and site newcomer.

I bought my first car, Mk 3 GL, just over a month ago. It has since been in the garage twice with a new starter coil, dizzy cap, rotor arm and crank sensor being fitted. Still it cuts out. Seems to do it when it wants. Can't see a pattern (apart from me getting angry when it does it).

I have no idea how to get the fault codes that some of you talk about and any advice I will go to the garage with (unless anyone is patient enough to talk me through the easier tasks step by step).
    They can't seem to make it break down and all their diagnostis have told them the car is fine.
    Any help/advice would be very grateful.

Thanks in advance.

0 0 0

2. Re: MK3 - Cutting Out 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    What is your engine code?

0 0 0

3. Re: MK3 - Cutting Out 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks for your reply.

Not too sure. I think it might be AFT (?). If this isn't right how or where can I find it?

Cheers.

0 0 0

4. Re: MK3 - Cutting Out 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    108 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1816 Post(s)
    It needs a throttle body clean and reset but this requires a system that will also read the fault codes, you need to find someone capable.
    Anthropogenic climate change, the biggest con inflicted on mankind since religion...

Slava Ukraini
    !

0 0 0

5. Re: MK3 - Cutting Out 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cheers for the idea.

Is this the VAG COM ive read about?
    How easy is it to use?

0 0 0

6. Re: MK3 - Cutting Out 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged