Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi,

After snooping around for a few months its now time to join in!

I'm a company car driver and very happy with my Leon Sport TDI. However, its now time to change and I have decided on a Golf, mainly because it offers the 170bhp oil burner with the DSG box - I drive 40k a year and live in London so an auto is now a requirment!

I presumed the GTI was out of reach because of the CO2 based tax, until I did the sums on www.comcar.co.uk, there is nothing between a GT Sport TDI with climate control added to the spec compared to a GTI....great methinks.

So I now have a dilema. I love the torque of the TDI, as I do a lot of motorway work it makes sense, then again I feel naturally drawn towards the GTI because of the write ups it has. I've driven both and my only concern is that the GTI is too sporty(!) for such a lot of driving a DSG makes sense...aaaaahhh!

So, does anyone here live with a GTI for so much driving a year, how does it shape up? Anyone else had a similar choice?

Any pointers appriciated

0 0 0

2. Re: Golf GT Sport 170 TDI DSG vs GTI 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    for 40k a year the TDi has to be the one, doesn't it?

The GTi will take a lot of very very grandad like driving to get it to do 36mpg whilst you can thrash the 170 about all day long and still get 36mpg.

Plus - as I have just posted elsewhere - the 170 is probably pushing out between 180and 190bhp - so at best only 7bhp off the GTi.

The Gti is quicker 30-70 by 1.3 seconds
    It's quicker 30-50 in 4th by 0.5 seconds

and that's all.

Don't get me wrong, I love the GTi - love it's looks and well just love it. Unless money is no object, 40,000 miles a year is a lot of money in a Petrol car.

Plus the DSG tdi will be quicker than the figures above, so the GTi and TDI will be even closer.