Notices

User Tag List

Thread: Multitronic issues

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Multitronic issues 
    lent Guest
    Hi all,
    This is my first post and I am also new to Audi's, My car is a 2003 A4 2.5 tdi with multitronic gearbox, first of all I would like to say that I love the car but after reading the various threads on these gearboxes I am getting a little nervous, I think my car is displaying the early symptoms of failure, basicaly when cruising at around 35-40 mph it feels as if the clutch is slipping for a fraction of a second and then returning to normal, it does this every minuite or so and only happens when the engine is warm.
    I also experience a slight judder between ratio's at low speed.

Any advice or suggested actions welcome.

By the way the car is still within the dealers 3 month warranty, but I am reluctant to return the car untill I have a bit more knowledge, the dealer is a general make dealer and I dont think would have the experience to understand the potential problem.

thanks in advance

0 0 0

2. Re: Multitronic issues 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi Lent,

The multitronic gearbox is a problem, as you will have picked up from the threads. My car is 2004 and had a new box fitted in december. I had judders, lurching forward, no selection of gears and power loss. Judders came first with slow gear selection. I'm not an expert just an owner but it sounds like the gearbox to me.

Audi are not admitting a problem but could, depending on milage of the vehicle contribute a % to repair.

From what I've read there are a varity of issues / fix's, ECU, Valve body, 7 plate clutch conversion. Whilst one or a combination of these may fix it it can be more expexpensive than a new gearbox, the only sure way of solving the problem. Either way its thousands, not hundreds to fix

Warranties generally only pay out on failure, not symptoms.

Hope this helps