1. Oil Change 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I am planning on doing an Engine Oil Change on my 1997 Passat TDi this weekend, but am a little unsure as to what oil to replace the current stuff with.

The reccomended (in Halfords) seems to be a 0w - 30 but the car smokes a bit occasionally, so was thinking of a 5w to see if this reduces the amount of smoke (i know i'll never be able to completely stop it).

I was also looking at using the Castrol Edge TD range, does anyone have any preferences as to what they use in their Diesel Passats?

Simon
    0 0 0

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi, what sort of smoke is when your car smokes black or blue ? I have been using Mobil 1 turbodiesel 0w40 for about 6 years in all the cars i had and it keeps the engine clean plus the oil level would not drop at all ! I never used Castrol as i believe they a bit misleading with theirs oils but guess what? the dealer recomends them ! You want the best protection for your engine ? then get fully syntethic oil. Just let us know what mileage your car has so far. Maybe its not too late to switch and enjoy the benefits.
    0 0 0

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks for your reply,

The one i have been using i think was a 0w -30 Castrol Oil, and the smoke (i think) appears to be black, however it is not the thick black smoke i see pouring from the back of some other Diesel's as it is a lot less dense.

The car has done a fraction over 110,000 miles.
    0 0 0

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)