Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi,
    I've just bought a GT TDI 115 (2000) and am slightly worried I've bought a lemon. I'm not that technical, so bear with me

I've had the coolant light come on the dash. Checked the coolant, and there was hardly any in the header tank. Filled up with water
    and have been monitoring it since. It has dropped a tiny bit since, but I didn't know if that could be because of a air blockage or something after topping up, and I haven't driven that far.

I'm worried about the possibility of a head gasket failure or worse. There was a slight orange dirty sludge in the header tank, but not a great deal. I've read this could be caused by a mixing of coolants? I don't know what was in there before.

There are signs of a water dribbling down the header tank, as there is a white residue on the side, but I don't think that is new. I can't see any thing obvious leaking from any pipes etc. But, when filling up the header tank with water, the cap didn't seem like it wasn't quite done up correctly.

There doesn't seem to be any usual smoke from the exhaust. It looks ok to me.

The temperature gauge on the dash slowly rises to 90, and stays there.

The heat blower in the cabin fluctuates between hold and cold. Not rapidly, but it does go from hot to cold and back again. I don't know if this is connected or not?

What's the best plan of action? At the moment, I'm just monitoring the coolant level when cold in the mornings. My plan was to flush out the old coolant, and replace the lot with G12 this weekend if the coolant level remains ok, and also do an oil change as that was found to be a it low. (once I figure out how to do that .

Many thanks,
    Jordan
    Last edited by jordelver; 27-11-2007 at 01:56 AM. Reason: Typo

0 0 0

2. Re: GT TDI 115 Coolant Loss 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)