1. Question: Loss of power, oil consumption and more. Leon 2001 AKL 1.6 SR 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have a Seat Leon mk1 2001, 1.6 SR, AKL engine. Built in 2000 and sold in 2001.

I got a few problems, which I don't know how to resolve.
    I'm not experienced with mechanics, I can do some things myself if I have the tools and it can be done outside without going under the car. Trying to do most things myself to keep the cost down.

Anyway, here's a description on what's been going on. Sorry it's a long post, but I tried to include everything so you'd get all the information.

Problem 1

The car lose power and don't respond when pushing the gas at times. It just slows down and at first there was smoke from the exhaust. White/grey and dark. Smelled petrol and some weird smell like sulfur.
    At times the rpm goes up and down while idling. The loss of power was first most noticable when driving over 100 km/h and especially uphill.
    It has started to happen more often while driving slowly, maybe more when going uphill. It stutters and lose power. Almost like it's going to stop and then it catches on again.
    It's like you're accelerating and it just start to die but then come back again, over and over a few times until it runs again. It's like the car is not breathing for a second but then just catches its breath.

Also when it is hesitating and sort of jumping forward at it's worst there's sometimes a sound from underneath or bottom front of car. It doesn't sound like an loud exhaust bang, more like a hitting or popping sound. Like two things hitting each other. Though it could be some sort of bang. Not very loud (at least from inside the car) and a bit difficult to describe.

Problem 2

Before that I had noticed it consumed oil, I've been checking the consumption and it seems to be around 1 - 1.1 litre per 1000 kilometers.