Notices

User Tag List

Thread: Polo 1.2 (CGP) System too lean (bank 1)

1. Polo 1.2 (CGP) System too lean (bank 1) 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hey everyone,

Unfortunately I have a system too lean (bank 1) on my ‘10 reg 1.2 Polo (CGP engine).

I’m new to vehicle diagnostics but have been reading around a little about this problem.
    I have already asked in the VCDS forum for some help to scan the Short and Long Term Fuel Trim values .

Are there any quick and easy checks or things I can do whilst waiting for some help on the diagnostic side?

i have recently added some redex petrol system cleaner to the car and used a more premium fuel in case it is blocked injectors. I need to run the car some more miles I think before seeing any results from that (if that is the problem)

anyone have any similar experience/suggestions?

0 0 0

2. Re: Polo 1.2 (CGP) System too lean (bank 1) 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    110 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1836 Post(s)
    That suggests an inlet system air leak such as a vacuum hose detached or split.
    Anthropogenic climate change, the biggest con inflicted on mankind since religion...

Slava Ukraini
    !

0 0 0

3. Re: Polo 1.2 (CGP) System too lean (bank 1) 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi Crasher

Hope you're well.

Yeah - that definitely seems to be one of the things to check...one of the other suggestions seem to be:
    - Faulty MAP

I managed to get hold of an OBD scanner to measure some data. I took some MAP readings, and fuel trims for different RPMs.

1. MAP data

(i) before turning the engine on - reads 14.5psi which seems about right when compared to today's atmospheric pressure which was around 14.6psi
    my thoughts: MAP sensor is ok.