Notices
 

  

User Tag List

Thread: coding a new instrument cluster

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46
  1. coding a new instrument cluster 
    #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Crewe Cheshire
    Posts
    209
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    I have an audi a3 8p 2006 2.0 tdi which the central locking doesnt work , Audi main dealers say it is a fault with the instrument cluster and its 1700 for a new one , if I buy a used one does anyone know who in cheshire or nearby can code it to my car so I can just swap it over ?????
     
    0 0 0
     

  2. Re: coding a new instrument cluster 
    #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Near Blackpool
    Posts
    834
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    20 Post(s)
    98% sure you have to code it as it forms part of your immobiliser.
     
    0 0 0
     

  3. Re: coding a new instrument cluster 
    #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Crewe Cheshire
    Posts
    209
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    That's what I am asking , I know it needs coding to the car , I need someone who can do it ????

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
     
    0 0 0
     

  4. Re: coding a new instrument cluster 
    #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Near Blackpool
    Posts
    834
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    20 Post(s)
    Sorry read your post as a question of if it needed coding. Any decent VAG specialist with the full VAG suite that connects to VW can do it, I forget itís name.

    Volkservice in blackpool did my ECU swap for me
     
    1 0 0
     

  5. Re: coding a new instrument cluster 
    #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    35,755
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    729 Post(s)
    The Audi dealer says the convenience system fault is to do with the instruments! I can’t see that....
    "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

    Evelyn Beatrice Hall (1868-1956)
     
    0 0 0
     

  6. Re: coding a new instrument cluster 
    #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Near Blackpool
    Posts
    834
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    20 Post(s)
    There was a similar post recently and the instrument gave a rom error and that caused central locking to fail didnít it. Could do with a full fault scan out put.
     
    0 0 0
     

  7. Re: coding a new instrument cluster 
    #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    35,755
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    729 Post(s)
    I can’t see it BUT I have had two instances recently where fitting a new BCM recoded the ABS ECU for no good reason.
    "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

    Evelyn Beatrice Hall (1868-1956)
     
    0 0 0
     

  8. Re: coding a new instrument cluster 
    #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Crewe Cheshire
    Posts
    209
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
     
    0 0 0
     

  9. Re: coding a new instrument cluster 
    #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Near Blackpool
    Posts
    834
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    20 Post(s)
    Fair enough, so your back to either getting your current instrument cluster repaired which is like pinning a tail on a drunk donkey in the next room blindfolded when it comes to picking a repairer or getting a scrapper recoded. When you get a new cluster you plug it in to the vag computer and it goes ok you need to fix that by replacing, you put new or second hand one in and it recodes it all magically. Impressive kit, suppose it should be when they make the kit and car lol. Only people I know with it is Volkservice in Blackpool.
     
    0 0 0
     

  10. Re: coding a new instrument cluster 
    #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Crewe Cheshire
    Posts
    209
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Spoke to a couple of local vw Audi indy specialists and none of them will do it with a second hand cluster , they will do it with a new one but so will Audi for half an hour's labour cost , it's the cost of a new cluster that is 1700 quid !!!!!

    Sent from my Lenovo TB-X704F using Tapatalk
     
    0 0 0
     

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. instrument cluster
    By carcav in forum Audi A6 - C5 Forum - 1998 - 2004
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-07-2018, 12:27 PM
  2. New instrument cluster coding.
    By Steve_K in forum Audi A6 - C6 Forum - 2005 - 2010
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 18-06-2013, 06:42 PM
  3. Instrument cluster
    By shavermcspud in forum Audi A6 - C5 Forum - 1998 - 2004
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20-04-2011, 05:25 PM
  4. Coding Q7 instrument cluster to stop seat belt warning light
    By tune-tec in forum Q7 - 4L Forum - 2006 - 2015
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 22-06-2008, 09:59 AM
  5. Instrument Cluster Coding HELP!
    By nisiotis in forum Audi A4 - B7 Forum - 2005 - 2008
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-05-2008, 11:18 AM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




  


Disclaimer: VW Audi Forum is an "independant enthusiast website", administered in line with guidelines supplied by VAG in the UK, and is in no way related to any of the Worldwide Volkswagen,Audi,Seat,Skoda,Bentley,Bugatti,Porsche or Lamborghini group of Companies. For official up to date information on any of there vehicles, please visit the official websites. Any comments made throughout this website, are the views of the respective poster, and in no way represent the views of the VW Audi Forum Administration, or the worldwide Volkswagen & Audi Group of companies.


VW Audi Forum do not vet and are not responsible for any information which is posted in this forum. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and we do not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information.


Copyright: Certain "words", "phrases" and "Images" used on this website by the Administration are "Copyright" of Volkswagen GB, Volkswagen AG (Germany), Audi GB, Audi AG (Germany), Volkswagen Motorsport GB, Volkswagen Motorsport AG (Germany), Audi Motorsport AG (Germany), Volkswagen Racing GB, Bentley, Bugatti, Porsche and Lamborghini. No image can be replicated by anyone WITHOUT the relevant Companies written permission.


All trademarks and copyrights remain property of their respective owners.

No part of the VW Audi Forum website or forum may be reproduced without written permission from the site administration


PLEASE NOTE - PERSONAL ABUSE, ABUSE AGAINST THIS OR ANY OTHER WEBSITE OR ANY COMPANY WILL NOT BE TOLERATED. OFFENDERS WILL BE MODERATED OR EVEN BANNED.


This website and forum are best viewed at a minimum resolution of 1024 by 768.



  



- VW AUDI Forum - The #1 Volkswagen (VW) Group Forum - Volkswagen (VW) - Audi - Seat - Skoda - Bentley - Bugatti - Lamborghini - Porsche - VW Audi Forum -


- www.vwaudiforum.co.uk - www.vwaudiforum.co.uk -