Notices
 

  

User Tag List

Thread: Can't connect to instrument cluster.

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. Can't connect to instrument cluster. 
    #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Essex,UK
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Have a little problem with my vcds.
    Recently bought an A4 B6 1.9 TDI,connected up my vcds and everything worked.
    However,as the fuel gauge in the cluster didn't work so bought a second hand cluster and swapped over the fuel and temperature gauge.
    Now everything works in the cluster,but i can no longer connect to the instruments or even do an autoscan (can search for fault codes in everything individually except instruments though),could do both before the cluster repair.
    Any ideas of where i've screwed up ?
     
    0 0 0
     

  2. Re: Can't connect to instrument cluster. 
    #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    35,938
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    35 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    774 Post(s)
    Could you post a full scan?
    "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

    Evelyn Beatrice Hall (1868-1956)
     
    1 0 0
     

  3. Re: Can't connect to instrument cluster. 
    #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Essex,UK
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Hi Crasher,forgive my ignorance,but how do i do that ? I can't do a full auto scan if that's what you mean ?
     
    0 0 0
     

  4. Re: Can't connect to instrument cluster. 
    #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    35,938
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    35 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    774 Post(s)
    Why can't you use the chassis type specific full car scan function in VCDS?
    "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

    Evelyn Beatrice Hall (1868-1956)
     
    1 0 0
     

  5. Re: Can't connect to instrument cluster. 
    #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Essex,UK
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    I don't know,it worked before i fixed the cluster.I'll give it another try later and see what it says exactly.
    Thanks for the help.
     
    0 0 0
     

  6. Re: Can't connect to instrument cluster. 
    #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Essex,UK
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Sorry for the delay,didn't get home until last night,work away too much...
    Just been out in the garage,couldn't get it to run a full auto scan unless i chose the chassis type manually like Crasher suggested.
    Did that and did a full scan,got a couple of fault codes with a rear door safe mode but cleared it and no more fault codes.
    However,still can't connect to the instrument cluster,everything else i can connect to.
    I know it's not exactly a massive problem as everything in the cluster works,but just curious as why this happened after i changed the fuel and temp gauge ?
     
    0 0 0
     

  7. Re: Can't connect to instrument cluster. 
    #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    35,938
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    35 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    774 Post(s)
    Temperature gauge? In the dash?
    "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

    Evelyn Beatrice Hall (1868-1956)
     
    1 0 0
     

  8. Re: Can't connect to instrument cluster. 
    #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Essex,UK
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Sorry,yes the temp gauge for coolant/engine.The old fuel gauge read full all the time so bought a second hand cluster and changed over the fuel and engine/coolant gauges.
    Everything in the cluster works fine,just can't get in to group 17 instruments ?
    Does it need coding or ?
     
    0 0 0
     

  9. Re: Can't connect to instrument cluster. 
    #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    35,938
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    35 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    774 Post(s)
    There is probaly a bad connection to the K line inside the pod.
    "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

    Evelyn Beatrice Hall (1868-1956)
     
    1 0 0
     

  10. Re: Can't connect to instrument cluster. 
    #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Essex,UK
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Ok,i'll try and take it apart again and see if there's anything obvious.
    Thanks again
     
    0 0 0
     

Similar Threads

  1. Question Instrument cluster Lcd
    By Nickiboy in forum Audi A4 - B7 Forum - 2005 - 2008
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-02-2013, 04:40 PM
  2. Instrument cluster
    By pricey01 in forum Golf MK5 - 2004 - 2009
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-01-2011, 08:06 AM
  3. Help with Instrument cluster!?
    By keemaklan in forum Audi A3 - 8L - 1996 - 2003
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 07:42 PM
  4. Instrument cluster on the way out?
    By mrcheeezy in forum A6 - S6 - RS6 - - Archive Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-01-2009, 12:34 PM
  5. A4 instrument cluster
    By alexf2828 in forum Audi A4 - Archive Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24-06-2007, 10:20 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




  


Disclaimer: VW Audi Forum is an "independant enthusiast website", administered in line with guidelines supplied by VAG in the UK, and is in no way related to any of the Worldwide Volkswagen,Audi,Seat,Skoda,Bentley,Bugatti,Porsche or Lamborghini group of Companies. For official up to date information on any of there vehicles, please visit the official websites. Any comments made throughout this website, are the views of the respective poster, and in no way represent the views of the VW Audi Forum Administration, or the worldwide Volkswagen & Audi Group of companies.


VW Audi Forum do not vet and are not responsible for any information which is posted in this forum. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and we do not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information.


Copyright: Certain "words", "phrases" and "Images" used on this website by the Administration are "Copyright" of Volkswagen GB, Volkswagen AG (Germany), Audi GB, Audi AG (Germany), Volkswagen Motorsport GB, Volkswagen Motorsport AG (Germany), Audi Motorsport AG (Germany), Volkswagen Racing GB, Bentley, Bugatti, Porsche and Lamborghini. No image can be replicated by anyone WITHOUT the relevant Companies written permission.


All trademarks and copyrights remain property of their respective owners.

No part of the VW Audi Forum website or forum may be reproduced without written permission from the site administration


PLEASE NOTE - PERSONAL ABUSE, ABUSE AGAINST THIS OR ANY OTHER WEBSITE OR ANY COMPANY WILL NOT BE TOLERATED. OFFENDERS WILL BE MODERATED OR EVEN BANNED.


This website and forum are best viewed at a minimum resolution of 1024 by 768.



  



- VW AUDI Forum - The #1 Volkswagen (VW) Group Forum - Volkswagen (VW) - Audi - Seat - Skoda - Bentley - Bugatti - Lamborghini - Porsche - VW Audi Forum -


- www.vwaudiforum.co.uk - www.vwaudiforum.co.uk -