1. HVAC Issue after messing about with lights 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    HI All. I'm new here. I am not a car pro but I am a motorcycle engineer so should be able to follow the techy bits.

I have had a quick search and cannot see a reliably identical issue being discussed so here goes

My 2006 Audi A3 2.0 FSI has no activity in the HVAC area. NO backlights, no fan, no defroster, no LCD, nothing.

It didn't randomly do it but after a service so I don’t believe that is a coincidence so let me give you a quick background. The number plate lights haven’t worked for a while. I had tried changing bulbs but didn’t work so I left it alone. Recently the tail lamp bulb went which was not ignorable so I replaced it and seen that also went kaput. I wanted to clean the connectors but a service was due so I asked the mechanic to have a look at that. He fixed the tail lamp (new bulb, connectors cleaned) and also determined that there was no power to Number plate lights and that this was turned off at the CAN bus level. He had checked the ground etc so declared this a separate job for another time. He did fix the tail lamp though so I wasn’t too fussed. Some other things were sorted with the suspension arm so the battery was disconnected and reconnected – maybe relevant.

I drove off on this chilly evening and realised the HVAC was off so I hit the ‘Auto’ button – aaaand nothing. So I drove back and the mech patiently checked everything on his Snap-On diags module, reset everything, recalibrated, took the stereo off and checked the HVAC connector etc etc. Disconnected, reconnected the battery. Checked all fuses in both boxes. He then declared the HVAC unit dead, and I find that a very improbable thing to happen randomly.