Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    4 Post(s)
    Hi to All,
    i have been topping up the coolant regularly over the last 18 months. Wife came home, reservoir was empty, red warning light on. Filled reservoir, all looked good, two short trips empty again with liquid on the floor.
    Best guess is the water pump is leaking.
    idled engine, no drips found with full reservoir, possibly leaks under pressure but can not explain the water pooled under the engine when my wife arrived home.

Youtube has a good water pump replacement video that I may attempt.

Has anyone replaced the water pump, any difficulties and special tools required ?

I am not a mechanic, just a tinkerer having replaced the brake fluid, dsg fluid and filter, spark plugs and coils on various occasions, confidence is high but aware of my limitations.

Any thoughts or pending problems encounted would be most welcomed.

Best regards
    john

0 0 0

2. Re: 2011 Gti petrol, loosing coolant 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)
    You need to get the cooling system pressure tested. That will show if the water pump is leaking.

What's the mileage as they normally replace the water pump when they do a timing belt.
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB, 5 Door, Shadow Blue (P6/D5Q), Flat Tyre Indicator, Basic Protection Pack + VCDS.

0 0 0

3. Re: 2011 Gti petrol, loosing coolant 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    4 Post(s)
    Dear KeithUK,
    thankyou for the reply.