Notices

User Tag List

Thread: New car to me, few oddities - not starting immediately, lumpy idle and slight miss on hard acceleration.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. New car to me, few oddities - not starting immediately, lumpy idle and slight miss on hard acceleration. 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    Due to the snow my A6 unfortunately died, so I now have an A4 B7 2.0Tdi sline 170.

As im new to these engines I need a bit of help working out what is normal and what isnt.

I had to buy in a bit of a hurry, but the car seems pretty sound, however there are a couple of things which im not so sure about.

In order of when they appear, i have the following things happening.

In the morning or at the end of a working day when I start the car it doesnt start immediately - it requires turning over a few times before it goes.
    When it is going the idle "seems" a bit lumpy - although being used to the V6tdi i dont know if the 2.0 is just a bit like that - its idling around 780rpm.
    It also seems that occasionally when you boot it from low revs it just stutters a bit - almost like its missing, but then when the revs pick up its fine.

I have had vcds on it, and there are no DTC's logged - ive looked at the injector readings and the all seem within the tolerance - all hovered around -0.5 to +0.5.
    I have contacted Audi, and they say it has no outstanding recalls on it - so I must assume the injector recalls on this model have been done if needed.

Ive run injector cleaner through, and also re-oiled and cleaned the K&N panel filter it came with.

Its doing around 40mpg on a run and 34 around town?

Any ideas where to look to see what might be causing the above oddities?
    I have vcds, but am not particularly experienced in using it other than resetting faults and now looking at the injector values!