Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi there

I'm a newbie on here so my apologies if this info is somewhere within an existing thread, but any advice/pointers in the right direction would be gratefully received. I have an A4 2012 2.0TDI & the serpentine belt snapped yesterday due to a siezed air con compressor clutch. The air con hasn't worked for 2 months now & finally the belt gave up the ghost. A very nice repair man fitted a shorter replacement belt to get me home but that has also now snapped, so the car is now off the road.

Question is can I get hold of a shorter serpentine belt to bypass the air con compressor altogether & if so, what length would I need? I'm not fussed about the air con as I can happily live without it, however I might tackle that in due course.

Any advice would be welcomed.

Thank you
    Ian (aka Windsor66)

0 0 0

2. Re: A4 2012 2.0 TDI Serpentine Belt Routing 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)
    Have you got the old belt to measure its circumference or measure it with some string,failing that dismantle the clutch so its freewheeling,if you can measure it I can tell you if a 1.9 tdi will fit.
    A4 B6,A4B7Quattro,MK4 Golf,MK5Golf gone and well forgotten,MK6Golf.

0 0 0

3. Re: A4 2012 2.0 TDI Serpentine Belt Routing 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    you need to also find out why the shorter belt snapped as well. Something tells me it might be one of the idler pulleys which has seized, since the belt is off check the idlers turn freely without noise.

0 0 0

4. Re: A4 2012 2.0 TDI Serpentine Belt Routing 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)
    Sorry I meant measure the shortened run.

0 0 0

5. Re: A4 2012 2.0 TDI Serpentine Belt Routing