1. Cam belt conundrum 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Grew some balls last month and decided to replace the cambelt on my 07 plate C6 2.0TDi. I'm an engineer at the end of the day, so should be a breeze, I thought.

I bought the parts, bought the locking tools and cracked on. First failure was with the new tensioner pulley. The Allen key drive sheared off instantly with minimal pressure applied when initially positioning the pulley to allow fitment of the belt. Ended up fitting the old one again with the new belt. Finished the job, went back to the parts supplier and they replaced the tensioner pulley free of charge.

A month's worth of successful driving and fast forward to 5 days ago. Had some time off work combined with decent weather and decided to replace the tensioner pulley. Completed the job ensuring correct torque of 20Nm + 45 degrees applied and even wet assembled the new nut with thread lock.

The wife was driving the car today and it began to run a little rough. On the way home a little later it struggled to start. It then started and ran rough again. Engine then cut out whilst coasting down a hill. The engine warning light and Oil pressure warnings came on.

I believe she tried to turn it over a couple more times to no avail. I immediately suspected the cam belt. Whipped off the cover and sure enough the belt was loose.

Got the car recovered and set about demolition. This is what I discovered...

For some reason, the tensioner pulley slackened off and released the belt tension causing the cam pulleys to end up miles out.

Put the old pulley back on again with the new belt and decided that, surely, the damage would have already been done and I had nothing to lose, so fired it up again (after checking and adjusting the timing). The car fired straight up with no abnormal smoking or rattling etc.