Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi there.

I have a 2011 1.6 TDI Touran with a manual gearbox and 92k on the clock. When either cold or warm, the car will always make a rattling noise when accelerating in 5th or 6th gear, and ONLY those two gears. And only while accelerating. The noise is like a babys rattle, coming from somewhere that sounds like the engine compartment at the left hand side. I can drive it up through 1st,2nd,3rd,4th and there's no noise. But once I go into 5th, and accelerate, and the revs reach about 1800rpm, the noise comes into the car. This noise will continue until about 2400 rpm, and then fade away to nothing. Once I climb to 6th gear, the noise starts again, and again will go away at about 2400 rpm.

If I leave the throttle off, or coast, the rattle disappears. It only happens while the engine is pulling. I was a mechanic in a past life, but have been out of the scene a good few years now. It sounds like it's gearbox related, but is 5th and 6th on a different shaft, that perhaps a bearing is starting to wear. Or does anyone have any ideas why this is happening.

I don't know how long this has being going on as I have the car only a few months, and it was in it at the beginning.
    Last edited by ger80; 06-06-2016 at 02:10 PM. Reason: spelling

0 0 0

2. Re: 1.6 TDI rattle on acceleration in 5th and 6th gear only 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi,