Notices
 

  

User Tag List

Thread: Adding dash-cam wifi to home network

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. Adding dash-cam wifi to home network 
    #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    43
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Morning all, just fitted a Thinkware dashcam to an A6 and am able to "control" it via it's built in wifi. i.e. I press the wifi button on the device, and use a smartphone to connect to it. This means dropping my wifi connection to my home network and all that goes with it, i.e. internet access, file shares and so on.

    So my question is, is there any way I can add the Thinkware dash cam's wifi to be a part of my home wireless network so I connect once to the home wifi and am able to access the camera?
     
    0 0 0
     

  2. Re: Adding dash-cam wifi to home network 
    #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Location: Location
    Posts
    11,408
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I don't have one myself, nor am I familiar with how they work, but it sounds as though it has a WiFi Direct (more info here) connection rather than a conventional WiFi AP connection so no, you won't be able to connect it as a device and 'see' it on your network.

    Do you have the manual for the camera or more details on the exact model?


    Considering selling my VCDS KEY-USB interface. If you're interested please contact me via PM or email.
     
    0 0 0
     

  3. Re: Adding dash-cam wifi to home network 
    #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    43
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    That sounds about right

    FYI it's one of these F750 | THINKWARE Dash Cam
     
    0 0 0
     

  4. Re: Adding dash-cam wifi to home network 
    #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Location: Location
    Posts
    11,408
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You'd have thought the manual would give up a bit of information but it doesn't seem to offer anything more

    My guess remains the same, it's WiFi Direct and not WiFi AP or similar.

    I'd be interested in day/night footage from the camera when you've got it up and running too, please.


    Considering selling my VCDS KEY-USB interface. If you're interested please contact me via PM or email.
     
    0 0 0
     

  5. Re: Adding dash-cam wifi to home network 
    #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Co Durham
    Posts
    230
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    But loading the files on the smart phone than syncing via a file share like dropbox would work. Provided you can sync the files on to your phone.
     
    0 0 0
     

  6. Re: Adding dash-cam wifi to home network 
    #6
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I believe it would be possible but you would need to get another WiFi unit as it would not connect directly to your router/WiFi. Your house WiFi and the dash cam WiFi are both operating as an "AP" thus it will not connect with each other. But if you buy a small cheap ubiquity picostation or similar device and are able to hardwire that into your home network (if not two pico's will Work) you could get it working as you'll set the pico as a station, establish connection with your dashcam and then link that into your home network.

    It's possible.

    Easy way to test. Download WiFi analyser on your phone. Press your button on the dash cam. If it appears in the WiFi analysers list it will work. If not then it won't.

    Sent from my E6553 using Tapatalk
     
    0 0 0
     

  7. Re: Adding dash-cam wifi to home network 
    #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Sheffield, GB
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    One suggestion is a USB otg device you can get them up to 256gb in size and hook direct to the phone so if you want to back up footage connect it and simply drag direct to the otg card.

    Sent from my SGP611 using Tapatalk
     
    0 0 0
     

Similar Threads

  1. Fitting a dash cam
    By dogzilla in forum Audi A6 - C7 Forum - 2011-
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16-03-2016, 08:41 PM
  2. Recommendations for Dash Cam
    By Lukenkarl in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19-10-2015, 09:43 AM
  3. been thinking of getting a dash cam.
    By nm1966 in forum Audi A6 - C7 Forum - 2011-
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 20-10-2014, 03:09 PM
  4. What fuses for dash cam?
    By lloydtown in forum Audi A6 - C7 Forum - 2011-
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 15-03-2014, 10:45 AM
  5. Adding new switch to dash..
    By Nebooaw in forum Passat - Archive Topics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-03-2007, 08:40 AM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




  



Disclaimer: VW Audi Forum is an "independant enthusiast website", administered in line with guidelines supplied by VAG in the UK, and is in no way related to any of the Worldwide Volkswagen,Audi,Seat,Skoda,Bentley,Bugatti,Porsche or Lamborghini group of Companies. For official up to date information on any of there vehicles, please visit the official websites. Any comments made throughout this website, are the views of the respective poster, and in no way represent the views of the VW Audi Forum Administration, or the worldwide Volkswagen & Audi Group of companies.


VW Audi Forum do not vet and are not responsible for any information which is posted in this forum. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and we do not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information.


Copyright: Certain "words", "phrases" and "Images" used on this website by the Administration are "Copyright" of Volkswagen GB, Volkswagen AG (Germany), Audi GB, Audi AG (Germany), Volkswagen Motorsport GB, Volkswagen Motorsport AG (Germany), Audi Motorsport AG (Germany), Volkswagen Racing GB, Bentley, Bugatti, Porsche and Lamborghini. No image can be replicated by anyone WITHOUT the relevant Companies written permission.


All trademarks and copyrights remain property of their respective owners.

No part of the VW Audi Forum website or forum may be reproduced without written permission from the site administration


PLEASE NOTE - PERSONAL ABUSE, ABUSE AGAINST THIS OR ANY OTHER WEBSITE OR ANY COMPANY WILL NOT BE TOLERATED. OFFENDERS WILL BE MODERATED OR EVEN BANNED.


This website and forum are best viewed at a minimum resolution of 1024 by 768.



  



- VW AUDI Forum - The #1 Volkswagen (VW) Group Forum - Volkswagen (VW) - Audi - Seat - Skoda - Bentley - Bugatti - Lamborghini - Porsche - VW Audi Forum -


- www.vwaudiforum.co.uk - www.vwaudiforum.co.uk -