Notices

User Tag List

Thread: MKIII Golf HELP! position of plug leads on distributor cap???

1. MKIII Golf HELP! position of plug leads on distributor cap??? 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    fOLKS!, Im new to all this forum business, and ive got a big problem. im a rookie car DIY guy, while replacing the dizzy cap and rotor arm ( on a MK3 GOLF 1.4) i managed to split the dizzy cap in to 4 parts. (i just couldnt get it to fit snugly) , and now ive lost the position of the plugs on the end of the cap.

does any one know what lead goes where on the cap?

ive wired it up incorrectly, so the car is not starting properly at the moment, ive read something about the rotor arm and timing??? have i messsed the timing up by trying to turn the engine? or will all be fine if i manage to fit the leads in to the correct position?

any advice will be appreciated.

0 0 0

2. Re: HELP! position of plug leads on distributor cap??? 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    Ha ha ha .... we've all done this at some point or another.

What you need to do is...

1, Find TDC (top dead centre) for cylinder number 1. Easiest way to do this is to get the car on level ground, put it in 5th gear, handbrake off and pull / rock the car forwards. You are looking to line up the timing dot on the crank pulley to the notch on the cover. At the same time observe which direction the rotor arm turns as well i.e. clock or anti-clock wise.

2, Once you have found TDC, look where the rotor arm is pointing and that will be towards plug number one.

3, Now assuming the firing order is 1-3-4-2 and Nr 1 cylinder is at the opposite end to the gearbox, you should be able to work out what goes where.

4, Look at the rotor arm position as you have set up the timing, fit the cap then fit the lead to Nr1 cylinder. Fit the other leads as above.