Notices

User Tag List

Thread: 2010 Polo Remote Central Locking (Replacement/Installation)

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
  1. 2010 Polo Remote Central Locking (Replacement/Installation) 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi guys, had a quick look around and couldn't see any similar threads, so sorry if this is a stupid question or has been answered before., I'm a bit new to all this.
    I recently bought a 2010 Polo but it only came with two standard keys, the central locking fob has either been lost or just wasn't bought as an option in the first place. What are the options as to getting one that will work with the car?
    I understand it will need to be "paired" effectively with the central locking module or whatever it is, but I've seen things like replacement kits that can be fitted to the ECU and control the central locking that way, with the key cut for the ignition barrel and the transponder put inside the fob. Will I be able to just buy a universal fob and then get the key cut, put the transponder in and pay someone to link it up with the central locking? Or is it more complicated and costly than that?
    I've heard VW charge many hundreds of pounds for this sort of thing so I'd rather live without it than pay that much.

0 0 0

2. Re: 2010 Polo Remote Central Locking (Replacement/Installation) 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)
    Hey there, I think what you want is a remote central locking kit. Here is a link to a kit I've used in the past :- http://tinyurl.com/ot7ezgm
    The fob shows a boot release button. That won't work on a Polo, but it will lock & unlock the doors, and costs less than a tenner.

Here is a link to a thread relating to installing remote locking to the 9N Polo : How To Remote Central Locking Addition to an 02 Polo