Notices

User Tag List

Thread: 2004 Golf Mk4 1.4 Match - Misfire & Brake Switch Errors.

1. 2004 Golf Mk4 1.4 Match - Misfire & Brake Switch Errors. 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi,
    I am a new member of this forum, but have been reading your posts for a while. I am a Bora TDI driver, but I am hoping someone can help with my wifes Golf Mk4 1.4 Match.

It all started 2 days before our wedding when she was going to collect her dresses and the engine lost power and the EPC light came on, so you can imagine what I had to listen to -

Once we returned from honeymoon, I borrowed an aftermarket diagnostic tool from a mate.

I scanned for errors and found the following:

16955 - Brake Switch Circuit
    16684 - Random Misfire
    16688 - Cyl. 4 Misfire

I cleared the errors, swapped the cylinder 1 & 4 sparkplugs, started the engine and the EPC light came on, rescanned for errors and found the following:

16684 - Random Misfire
    16688 - Cyl. 4 Misfire

The sparkplug did not appear to be at fault, so I cleared the errors, swapped the cylinder 1 & 4 coils, started the engine and the EPC light came on again, rescanned for errors and found the following:

16684 - Random Misfire
    16685 - Cyl. 1 Misfire

The coil did appear to be at fault, so I cleared the errors, fitted a new VW coil, started the engine and the EPC light stayed off . The engine sounded normal again, apart from some rattling from the top - will describe later...

The wife then took the car for a spin to the bottom of the street and back again. She said the EPC light came on while she was driving it .

I scanned for errors and found the following:

16955 - Brake Switch Circuit

I can understand this error not being present after I first cleared the errors, as the car never moved while testing and solving the misfire error. I can also understand it reappearing after my wife took the car for a spin...