1. Loss of Power Golf TDi Mk3 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I'm new to this and apologise in advance if this has been talked about before.

I have a Mk3 Golf Tdi with 120K on the clock. Recently my car has been losing power when in 5th gear and going up hill. I would have to take my foot off the gas totally and then apply gas again to pick up speed and thats when i see faint whitish smoke coming out from the back. If i keep my foot on the gas then the speed will pick back up once i have gone over the hill.

Does this mean my turbo is gone? or is it my MAF? or could my headgasket have gone? Has anyone else had this sort of a problem before and what was the out come.

All help and suggestion would be most welcome.

0 0 0

2. Re: Loss of Power Golf TDi Mk3 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi Pritesh,

I had almost all of the same symptoms as you have experienced, i.e. 5th Gear up hill the car would { lose power, jolt, stall, jerk } , then need to reapply power by releasing accelerator pedal, then reapplying power.

This could be due to numerous things, and I would check the following in order;
    • MAF (Pierburg on a G3 TDi, 1Z engine)
    • MAP to ECU hose leaks (hose is located on intake manifold)
    • Turbo hosing (3 hoses to check)
    • N75 (boost control) valve
    • 'Italian' tune up
    • Exhaust/cat clogged
    • Intercooler / hosing
    • Turbo
    * Blue indicates an issue in the Boost control path.

My symptoms were very similar but IIRC didn't experience ' faint whitish smoke coming out from the back'.

1) MAF

At about the same sort of mileage as yours (~120K), my car would suddenly jolt lightly and stop applying power (but only when accelerating in 5th). Since the 1st Gen Pierburg MAFs MAF imperceptibly degrade in performance over time, this was my first suspect.