Notices

User Tag List

Thread: Audi A6 Avant or Audi A6 All road?

1. Audi A6 Avant or Audi A6 All road? 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi,

Im expecting baby number 4 this summer and so need a bigger vehicle, Ive just sold my lovely little 51 plate VW Golf GT TDI and am currently looking at Audi A6 Quattro Avant and the Audi A6 Allroad. I have a budget of up to about £5500 but less would be better (£4500).

I like both of these cars but TBH seem to be swaying towards the Allroad, so I was wondering what the common faults and things to watch out for are when looking at purchasing? Ive done a search but unfortunately didnt find much sorry.

Ive been told by a mechanic friend that the allroad has a more reliable autobox and that the suspension compressor seems to go about every 4 years and costs around £400 to buy.

Any advice would be greatly apreciated as Im very new to all this.

Cheers
    2002(52) AUDI ALLROAD QUATTRO 2.5 V6 TDI AUTO TIPTRONIC

1996(N) 300 series Discovery XS 3.9 V8 efi, manual, single point LPG converted

0 0 0

2. Re: Audi A6 Avant or Audi A6 All road? 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    12 Post(s)
    Hi Mr Nice
    I have had a 2003 2.5 TDI allroad for just over a year now and I am very impressed with it. I dont use mine as main car though I have a more economical A4 for that. The allroad is an Auto it is the first car I have owned with an auto box and by all accounts the box seems to be very reliable.
    I use mine for occasional use towing caravan and winter driving. I can honestly say it is the nicest car I have had to drive and it feels roomy and comfortable on a long run. It is quite thirsty though. mine will return low thirties on a run when driving economically but probably averages 27 -28 .