Notices

User Tag List

Thread: Audi Allroad 2002 2.5TDi AKE - Swingout the Lock Carrier aka "gate style"

1. Audi Allroad 2002 2.5TDi AKE - Swingout the Lock Carrier aka "gate style" 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    Hi. Anyone who has read my recent posts will know that I am about to do a full cambelt/v-belt, dampers, tensioners pulleys, water pump, thermostat change soon.
    I now have all the parts and tools required on-order and plan to start early March (when weather hopefully will be warmer!)
    I will put the lock carrier into the service position, but being a novice I am going to see if I can swing the lock carrier open to get more access - I plan to also remove/install new mounting bushes on bracket for power steering pump and oil cooler.
    Having studied the manual, this appears to be possible for the AKE engine. All the ATF fuel pipes are on the right side of the radiator and the flexible hoses should allow the lock carrier to be swung out a little without having to remove them. Also, I believe the condenser could also be left attached to the radiator and also swung with the lock carrier.

MY QUESTION: HAS ANYONE DONE THIS? I know additonal hoses, electrical connections etc have to be disconnected but I think the gain in workspace would be worth it. All comments welcomed.

0 0 0

2. Re: Audi Allroad 2002 2.5TDi AKE - Swingout the Lock Carrier aka "gate style" 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)