Notices
 

  

User Tag List

Thread: front speakers gone after recoding symphony to bose

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. front speakers gone after recoding symphony to bose 
    #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hastings
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hello


    I was playing with my Audi A3's Symphony stereo. My speakers are deffinatley not Bose. But I have decided to change all of the speakers and settings asswell.
    I have read on the internet that by connecting through OBD2 cable you can change the stereo from Standard-0 to Bose-1. So i did (know someone who has a scan tool) and the sound is good. When you turn on the radio it does say Bose for a sec.
    Now my problem is the back speakers with Sub works fine and the sound is better than before but the front ones are gone all of them. The 13cm ones and the tweekers. Now i though that I have blown them or something went back to standard and they work fine. then back to Bose and they are gone again


    Did i do something wrong or is there another setting to be set, Or maybe i need an amp or something for front speakers?


    Any help would be great THANK
     
    0 0 0
     

  2. #2
    Getaway_Driver Guest
    You need a Bose amp to power the front speakers when you code the headunit to Bose. In standard mode, the headunit powers the front speakers.

    There is already a separate amp powering the rear speakers.

    Why would you want to code it to Bose when you don't have it?
     
    0 0 0
     

  3. Re: front speakers gone after recoding symphony to bose 
    #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hastings
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Correct me if im wrong, I think that when on Bose settings it gives more wats to each speakers and if i upgrade mybspeakers it wouod be better? Or am i wrong?
    Is there a way to make all speakers work on bose settings in a non bose system?
     
    0 0 0
     

  4. Re: front speakers gone after recoding symphony to bose 
    #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Chobham, Surrey
    Posts
    245
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I'm basing this reply on the Bose setup in an A6; it may be different in an A3 (but I bet it is similar):

    A factory Bose installation consists of specific Bose speakers as well as an additional Bose amp. Bose won't like me saying this, but the Bose speakers are not actually, in isolation, that good. Indeed, they have a strange frequency response. What Bose do however is to match their amplifier to their speakers (and possibly to the car). So that means that the Bose amp doesn't sound very good with other speakers, and the Bose speakers don't sound very good with other amps. But used together they are very well matched.

    Now just maybe, to save money, in an A3 the 'Bose' installation actually uses the standard rear speakers and drives them (and only them) from the standard head unit. But I can't see why it would provide more watts to them. It is slightly more likely that a Bose installation uses Bose rear speakers which require more watts, and which are driven by the standard head unit.

    So can you get all the speakers to work on Bose settings? I would say no, and that you wouldn't want to anyway.

    What you actually want to do is one of a) leave it all on standard settings and just live with it b) fit an A3 Bose amp and Bose front speakers (and possibly Bose rear speakers too) c) fit an aftermarket amp and speakers. Option B will be the most money and hassle!
    Golf GT 140 TDI. Mods: RNS510
     
    0 0 0
     

  5. Re: front speakers gone after recoding symphony to bose 
    #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have a related problem, I tried to change the cassette player in my TT to the Concert CD player. The CD player says Bose when switched on but will not power the front speakers. Can I change the CD from Bose to standard and if so how do I do it?
     
    0 0 0
     

Similar Threads

  1. front speakers gone after recoding symphony to bose
    By A3DS3 in forum VCDS - General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-09-2011, 07:02 PM
  2. Question Disappointed with Symphony II + Bose - is there anything better?
    By SteveSmythe in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-02-2011, 09:23 PM
  3. Bose Symphony Weirdness...
    By cxi2001 in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 09:42 PM
  4. Question Symphony BOSE, replacement.
    By jmpwestman in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26-04-2010, 11:11 AM
  5. Bose Symphony Adjustments
    By acoccoluto in forum Audi A6 - C5 Forum - 1998 - 2004
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-12-2007, 10:11 AM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




  


Disclaimer: VW Audi Forum is an "independant enthusiast website", administered in line with guidelines supplied by VAG in the UK, and is in no way related to any of the Worldwide Volkswagen,Audi,Seat,Skoda,Bentley,Bugatti,Porsche or Lamborghini group of Companies. For official up to date information on any of there vehicles, please visit the official websites. Any comments made throughout this website, are the views of the respective poster, and in no way represent the views of the VW Audi Forum Administration, or the worldwide Volkswagen & Audi Group of companies.


VW Audi Forum do not vet and are not responsible for any information which is posted in this forum. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and we do not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information.


Copyright: Certain "words", "phrases" and "Images" used on this website by the Administration are "Copyright" of Volkswagen GB, Volkswagen AG (Germany), Audi GB, Audi AG (Germany), Volkswagen Motorsport GB, Volkswagen Motorsport AG (Germany), Audi Motorsport AG (Germany), Volkswagen Racing GB, Bentley, Bugatti, Porsche and Lamborghini. No image can be replicated by anyone WITHOUT the relevant Companies written permission.


All trademarks and copyrights remain property of their respective owners.

No part of the VW Audi Forum website or forum may be reproduced without written permission from the site administration


PLEASE NOTE - PERSONAL ABUSE, ABUSE AGAINST THIS OR ANY OTHER WEBSITE OR ANY COMPANY WILL NOT BE TOLERATED. OFFENDERS WILL BE MODERATED OR EVEN BANNED.


This website and forum are best viewed at a minimum resolution of 1024 by 768.



  



- VW AUDI Forum - The #1 Volkswagen (VW) Group Forum - Volkswagen (VW) - Audi - Seat - Skoda - Bentley - Bugatti - Lamborghini - Porsche - VW Audi Forum -


- www.vwaudiforum.co.uk - www.vwaudiforum.co.uk -