Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hello all

I've recently purchased a 2004 1.9TDI Avant, with Multitronic gbox.
    Had I found this forum a bit earlier, I may have avoided it, because of all the issues with the auto, but I'm pleased with it at the moment - it's fast enough, very smooth, and excellent economy for the daily grind to work.

Can anyone advise please, what (If anything) I should be getting in the way of diagnostic tools and manuals ? I've been tinkering with cars for the past 30+ years, and realised that I'm NOT a mechanic, and most of my servicing will be done by a professional. That said, I'm more than capable of an oil change, pads and disks etc. In the Landrover world (I also run a Range Rover classic) the manual of choice is a RAVE CD. Is there an equivalent for Audi please, and a reliable, trustworthy, cost effective source?

What do you all have as your 'bare minimum' Audi specific kit to keep your cars running sweetly? Do I need a VAG COM (What is that??) or similar, and if so, how do you spot genuine against copy, and does it matter? Oh so many questions....

0 0 0

2. Re: What should be on my 'must have' list 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If your conscience can handle it, there's unofficial copies of ELSAWIN (CD-DVD with service manuals installed) on Ebay for about a tenner.

Also on Ebay, there's limited functionality VAG-COM cables with the Shareware version of the communication software thrown-in. Think they're about 25 quid..

The official Software is available from Ross-tech.com, but I've no idea how much....I'd say anything up to ton would still be worth going for because of the added functionality and the support that Ross-tech will then give.

There's not much diagnostics you can do without even basic tools like these.
    Allroad 2.7 TT 2004
    Jensen Interceptor III (Now sadly Sold)