Notices

User Tag List

Thread: Vredestein Wintracs - do they fit "standard" S Line 18" wheels?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Vredestein Wintracs - do they fit "standard" S Line 18" wheels? 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to this kind of thing...

Anyway - my A4 Sline is now about 4 months old. In the snow/ice over the Winter I encountered awful traction issues, so i'm considering a winter tyre option for the next winter.

Some people say you need smaller, narrower wheels/tyres to improve anything.

But...

Then I heard about Vredestein Wintracs. With these tyres, can you get these tyres to fit the "standard" 18" wheels that come on a B8 A4 Sline? If so, is the traction substanially improved, or are you really better off getting smaller/thinner wheels/tyres?

Any help much appreciated!

0 0 0

2. Re: Vredestein Wintracs - do they fit "standard" S Line 18" wheels? 
    Bratty Guest
    As long as you can scource them in the same dimensions as the summer ones they will fit, AND! give you substantially better traction in snowy conditions, PLUS! your braking distances will be drastically improved when in low temperatures and inclement weather!

The downside is that there will not be sufficient clearance to fit snowchains (which if you like to go skiing in Europe then that is a bit of a dilema). Whereas narrower rims and thinner tyres will give you the clearance and cut through the snow better, (with the real bonus that your summer wheels stay nice!).

Dunk

0 0 0

3. Re: Vredestein Wintracs - do they fit "standard" S Line 18" wheels? 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Bratty View Post