Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi,

I've been trawling through this site and been reading about cleaning the VNT on the turbo and checking actuator arm operation. Out of curiosity I went out and tried to move the actuator rod on my turbo and it was solid!

I manged jam a spanner under the adjuster nut on the rod and gave it a good old heave, after a few attempts it finally moved. I exercised it up and down and the range of movement kept increasing. It's hard to tell what the actual range of movement is as it's hidden beneath the actuator itself.

I wasn't aware that the car (1998 1.9 Tdi, AFN) was running poorly. I've only had it a month and thought the apparent lack of power was because I've been driving a BMW 523 for the last 2 years. I've had a A80 1.9Tdi and A6 1.9Tdi in the past but coldn't remember how they felt when accelerating.

Anyway, the car now feels like it revs a lot more freely, don't have time to take it for a drive today, plus the roads are snowy/icy!!

I have VCDS-lite and have scanned the car three times since I got it, the only codes showing are the ABS ones, which I'm in the process of rectifying, nothing regarding boost pressure etc.

So even if you don't think you have a problem, go check out the turbo actuator rod for freedom of movement, it does take a fair amount of force to get it moving but should noticeably and smoothly.
    Thanks to this forum I've fixed a problem I didn't know I had

Cheers, Leigh

0 0 0

2. Re: Freeing up Turbo Actuator - 1.9Tdi AFN 
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi there,

Thanks for the info, and Good work!

Have you our anyone on here got a picture or diagram of a turbo showing where the Actuator arm is at all?

Also how do i find what engine type i have (AFN, etc)

Many thanks

0 0 0

3. Re: Freeing up Turbo Actuator - 1.9Tdi AFN 
    Post Thanks / Like