PDA

View Full Version : New to audi, time to decide.

RMH1
18-05-2010, 07:35 PM
Hi, as you can see by the thread title i'm new to the audi badge.

Little history about me i've spent the last fours years as a honda S2000 owner but that has now gone and it's time to scratch the audi itch i've had for a few years.

Anyway i've narrowed it down to 2 tdi models

S-line 140bhp

S-line quattro 170bhp

As i know very little about the a4 can someone give any real world advise on the difference between these two models and anything i should watch out for.

I did go and have a look at an s-line quattro at the weekend but it had so many dents and dinks to the body i walked away.
Going to look at a 2.0tdi s-line this weekend.

Thanks in advance for any advise.

stevesnaz
18-05-2010, 07:49 PM
Depends on your priorities:

Performance vs fuel consumption.
Avant vs saloon.

Are you going to be doing a lot of miles?

I'm guessing that your preference is performance if you've had an S2000 for the last few years.

You'll see from my signature what I went for and I'm very pleased with it. Although I've not had a 170, I know the mpg is a lot less than the 140.

RMH1
18-05-2010, 08:11 PM
Thanks for the speedy reply stevesnaz,

Its going to be a second car used mainly for weekends so fuel consumption is not a major issue also coming from the S2000 which i could empty the 50 litre tank in 220 miles easily i'm sure the quattro won't be that bad.:D

The other thing is how much is it to have cruise control fitted as it seems like it's pot look if they have it fitted or not. can anyone on here do it ?

Thanks

darich
18-05-2010, 08:29 PM
RMH1

I was similar to you recently - had a 3.0 Z4 and changed to Audi but was more keen on keeping something with similar performance.
I went for a 2.0T fsi Quattro SLine SE. Lovely car and averages around 31mpg. I can get about an extra 100miles from a tank compared to the Z4 but the tank is bigger - it works out about the same mpg wise.