PDA

View Full Version : drum to disc conversion

dubtastic
16-04-2010, 04:11 PM
hi there i have a mk3 td which has the four stud drum brakes at the rear. how complicated is it to convert them to discs.

I am a novice mechanic at heart and would appreciate the difficulty rating as if using the haynes manual.

Thanks for reading! J

zollaf
16-04-2010, 05:25 PM
if you really want to, you drop an axle in from a car with disc brakes and job done. but, why would you want to ?

dave18
17-08-2010, 08:03 PM
let me think why

better brakes,
Safer brakes,
and thats just with the brake compensator

:biglaugh::biglaugh::biglaugh:

As said drop the axel out of a disk car, buy new hoses, and a compensator and bushs and your almost there, loads of info over at www.clubgti.com

zollaf
17-08-2010, 09:11 PM