PDA

View Full Version : 2000 Polo - x Reg - Help please?

mellowmunkee
18-05-2007, 12:25 PM
Hi,

I own a X plate Polo 1.9 SDI. I have tow queries that I hope some of you will be able to help me with:

- The 'oil service light' has came on recently. Does this indicate a problem with the oil or just that it's 'that time of year' to get the service done?

- Also, the ABS light is on all the time now. It sometimes goes off for short bursts but comes back on again. Is this a sensor do you think? I recently got my tracking done as my tyres were wearing badly on the front inside. After the tracking was completed the camber reading was not alterered that much and the garage said it could be bent shock absorbers?

I'd appreciate it loads if some of you could help me on this.

mclean1979
18-05-2007, 06:27 PM
Im not an expert but i have a few years experience with various difficulties on my x reg polo 1.4SE.

If your ABS is still working then it is probably a sensor. A friend of mine is a VW mechanic and the first thing he checked when my ABS light came on was the back left break sensor. This is inside the car under the back seat and it commonly goes off due to having people sitting in the back of your car. I have a child who uses a booster seat in the back left hence this caused the problem with me. I still sometimes get the ABS warning coming on but it goes away again. Do you regularly have someone sitting in the back of your car?

There are many more things that could be causing the problem but at least this is a suggestion.

RickT
19-05-2007, 02:29 AM
Im not an expert but i have a few years experience with various difficulties on my x reg polo 1.4SE.