PDA

View Full Version : Wiring for towbar query

arizmanor
10-02-2010, 04:25 PM
I have been chasing around the local towbar installers and it looks as though there is a choice of wiring methods. There is the cheap where the older normal method of using Scotchlocks is used, or utilising a VW wiring loom to just plug in to the car's system. I have been given the understanding that this second method requires me to then go to the VW dealer to have the system reprogrammed for something like £100.

Since I am an old newbie (who has fitted towbars and the electrics in the dim and distant past), I have no experience of the recent developments in wiring techniques and systems.

So, since I only need to pull a trailer, will the cheap way be satisfactory or will there be issues I ought to be aware of?

PFJones
10-02-2010, 05:05 PM
I have been chasing around the local towbar installers and it looks as though there is a choice of wiring methods. There is the cheap where the older normal method of using Scotchlocks is used, or utilising a VW wiring loom to just plug in to the car's system. I have been given the understanding that this second method requires me to then go to the VW dealer to have the system reprogrammed for something like £100.

Since I am an old newbie (who has fitted towbars and the electrics in the dim and distant past), I have no experience of the recent developments in wiring techniques and systems.

So, since I only need to pull a trailer, will the cheap way be satisfactory or will there be issues I ought to be aware of?

Hi ArizManor,

You are right there is a choice, you have the option of splicing the electrics with scotch locks as you said, the next option is the plug-in wiring kits

We will be able to supply the wiring kit you need at towbar wiring kits (http://www.pfjones.co.uk/towbar-wiring-kits.html)
if you need any advice you can give Brian a call on the free phone number listed in my signature.

Scott
P.F.Jones

arizmanor
11-02-2010, 06:35 PM