PDA

View Full Version : Should we buy a Touran???

madwelshman
28-01-2010, 11:49 PM
Hi Folks,
I'm a newbie on here so please bare with me.
My partner and I are thinking about buying a Touran Tdi. She has Arthritis and we need a vehicle thats not to big, but is a little easier for her to get in and out of. We have a 2000 model Fiat Brava at the moment and because the roofline is a little low, she struggles to get in and out on times, especially if parked buy a kerb.

Anyway, we've test driven a Touran 105Tdi match and both loved it.
When we got home I had a look online to see what problems there were with the range and which diesel they reconed was the best to go for. The 105hp engine seemed about right, and the one we tried wasn't even run in.
Anyway, the reports Ive read, range from excellent vehicle with no/very few faults, to wouldn't entertain another VW car ever again because we've had so many problems.
Abs ECU problems, Turbo failure, CANBUS wiring problems, etc.

I read that one person was told that VW had addressed these problems at the time of the facelift in 06, but have also read other owners reports stating the same problems on newer cars(06 on).

We're a little concerned now, which is a huge shame as we both really like the Touran and had pretty much set our hearts on one.

So what do you folks think? :1zhelp:

Will

zollaf
28-01-2010, 11:59 PM
welcome to the forum.