PDA

View Full Version : 2000 5 cyl tdi caravelle with broken timing belt

grenadekid
28-01-2010, 12:07 PM
Hi this is my first post on the forum here so hi to everybody
I was just wanting a bit of the members knowledge and possibly vw techs if possible.
I do a bit of part time grease monkeying for the firm i work for now mostly maintaining a fleet of transits and four 7 1/2 t lorrys. I am a time served mechanic but now i am shopfitting for this firm. Thats my background history outta the way now. One of the bosses at work landed me with his caravelle the other day with a broken belt, as yet i have,nt stripped it to see what damage was done. the only thing that might minimise the damage was it was negotiating a mini roundabout at very low speed and revs when it broke.
Does any body have experience with these 5 cyl tdi,s in this situation and what should i expect to find and what should i carefully check for when i take it down also if the head is salvageable whats the tips for rebuilding her again.
thanks for all info in advance
kev

kenney
28-01-2010, 12:39 PM
The chances of nothing being damaged,are very small,if you remove the rocker cover,and have a look at the hyd lifters,you will find out if the valves are bendt,You can usually get away with replacing the valves and lifters,to be on the safe side.

grenadekid
28-01-2010, 01:01 PM
Hi kenney thanks for quick reply im certain myself that theres valves bent as he turned it over and the engine jammed against the vavles after trying to turn over needless to say i told him thats enough turning over unless he wanted to enlarge the bill, but i would be happy if its only valves and lifters(handy for me). I have read where somebody says it better to replace the head bolts as they are the stretch type?, any truth in this?, also is there any instances of the holeing pistons or breaking camshafts etc. i guess this could happen at higher speeds but hopefully not to this one.