PDA

View Full Version : Buying a Skoda Octavia 1999/V 1.8 20v non-turbo

minichaz
11-01-2010, 10:35 AM
Hi all. I'm new to this so be gentle please. ;)

I've been looking at used Skoda Octavias and have come across a very low mileage 1999/V reg 1.8 20v non-turbo SLXi estate. It was owned by an old couple and has only covered 32k miles. The service stamps and old MOTs all verify the mileage and the documentation verifies the ownership. I'd be getting it from an independant dealer.

Parkers list it at £2205 and it was on the forecourt for £2995. The bloke's pushing for £2800 which I think is too much. Can anyone comment? The car would appear to be immaculate with only a 5 inch scratch on the front left bumper. Exerything appears to work and the car seems like a genuine, honest example.

If I were to buy it what should I worry about mechanically? The timing belt hasn't been done as far as I know and - while the mileage is low - I did read somewhere that it should be changed after 8 years regardless. Clutch seemed okay but I didn't do the fourth-gear-see-if-it-stalls thing. How long do they last? Body work seemed sound but what are Skodas of this age like for sill trouble?

Basically I think I would be happy if I could run it for 5 years (about ~8k a year) for as little cost as possible.

Very many thanks,
Charlie

zollaf
11-01-2010, 12:37 PM
sounds like a good car. obviously the price is slightly high, but reflects the low mileage. but, the cambelt needs changing before you drive it. the clutch should be good, but as always, it depends on how the previous owner drove it. i would try and get the belt change as part of the deal, and personally i wouldnt drive it till its changed, as the age of it will make it brittle and it is liable to go at any moment.

minichaz
13-01-2010, 05:55 PM