PDA

View Full Version : Ibiza TDi PD 130

saunders1587
30-12-2009, 05:42 PM
Hi,
I am writing this on behalf of my girlfriend, but we are looking at a new car for her, and as you can guess its a Ibiza diesel. She loves the car but is yet to drive it, i drove it and fell in love myself.
I am a mechanic but a HGV one, i know a bit about this engines but in this model is there anything that is known to go wrong?
One thing that startled me is when i turned the ignition on the low pressure lift pump was noisey, this normal cause it sounded rather noisey to me.
is there anything else to look at on these cars?
It was a fully equiped one with climate and cruise, cd changer the lot. it had done lots of motorway driving but we will be looking elsewhere due to it not being serviced for a good 35k which has put me off massively.
The seller is currently doing a window regulator on it as the cables have snapped which i had a polo and this was a common fault then, is it still or just a one off?
All the rear wiper motor has siezed and he is replacing it with a VW one at £105. these niggles show me it hasn't been looked after properly to be honest.

Thanks for reading

Dan

CloggsA6
31-12-2009, 11:23 AM
Dan,

not sure what your budget is but like you say, that one sounds like it has had a neglected life.

I bought my wife a 100bhp Tdi Sportrider (Demo) and she loves it. It has lots of toys including the FR bodykit and wheels. It returns excellent MPG - if that is a factor - and suits her daily 100 mile commute to a tee........ however:

It has just had a service and the rear wash wipe has stopped working.... not frozen but there is a detached pipe somewhere as it is losing fluid.

It is noisy on our local concrete dual carriageway.... boy is it noisy. I am comparing it to my Passat Sport for comfort but it isn't well insulated against noise.