PDA

View Full Version : Audi 80 V6 Quattro not starting

Halix
21-04-2007, 01:58 PM
Hi all. Newbie here.

Anyone had a situation where the car starts first turn of the key for weeks and then suddenly won't fire at all (cranking over perfectly but no firing). I leave the car alone for 2 or 3 hours and it starts up first time and works perfectly for another few weeks.

The car is K reg Audi 80 2.8 V6 Quattro but I assume the basic electronics are the same for all models of that era.

Before you say "seach the forums", I have and nobody seems to have come across this before.

Hope you can help before I take a hammer to it.:zx11:

kuzz
20-12-2008, 12:33 PM
yes. i have this prob on my 2.8 v6. garage can't find the prob cus it always seems to work perfectly when it's there which makes it tricky to find a prob that dosn't exist. changed the crank sensor and temp sensor. still no better. anyone out there have an answer?

Crasher
20-12-2008, 12:49 PM
ECU relay

Halix
20-12-2008, 01:40 PM
yes. i have this prob on my 2.8 v6. garage can't find the prob cus it always seems to work perfectly when it's there which makes it tricky to find a prob that dosn't exist. changed the crank sensor and temp sensor. still no better. anyone out there have an answer?

Hi Andy

I resolved the problem early last year.
It was the camshaft sensor. Located on the back end of the right-hand camshaft looking from the front of the car.

One thing I don't understand is why Audi designed the damn computer to keep on cranking the engine but refuse to start when it gets an error signal from the bloody sensor. If there is something wrong with the camshaft, the last thing you want the engine to do is crank over on the key!:zx11:

Anyway, after shelling out an arm and a leg the little beauty has not gone wrong again - touch wood!

kuzz
20-12-2008, 02:14 PM
are camshaft sensor and crank sensor different things?

Halix
20-12-2008, 02:26 PM
are camshaft sensor and crank sensor different things?

Hi