PDA

View Full Version : A6 c6 2006 2.0 tdi se lowering suspension???

nemerkh
22-07-2009, 09:31 PM
Hello
I am looking to lower my A6 SE, 2005/6. I have a standard suspension. I have never done that before. Could someone advise me what exactly to change? Will a lowering suspension (springs and shock abs) do or I have to change something else? Any brands to recommend? I am looking for something affordable.
Thank you for your help.

rharris
22-07-2009, 11:19 PM
I've not done this on my A6, but when I swapped the suspension on my other car for the motorsport suspension I also changed the anti-roll bar to a stiffer setup - if handling is what you are you might want to consider that as well.

stevais
23-07-2009, 06:20 AM
Hey...I'm running KW Coilovers on my 2006 A6 2.0T but I bought the KW Variant 1, which is only height adjustable...and since my rims have major aggresive offset, my tires tend to scrub against my rear fenders. As the Version 1 are still alittle too soft. If I bought the Variant 2, at least I would've been able to adjust the damper and make it alittle harder so that it wont scrub. Basically, if you just need to lower the car and your rims don't have an agressive offset, I guess lowering springs will do if budget is an issue...eventhough I suggest coilovers,hehe. My KW Variant 1 costs about USD1400. Hope this helps.

stevais
23-07-2009, 06:21 AM
I've not done this on my A6, but when I swapped the suspension on my other car for the motorsport suspension I also changed the anti-roll bar to a stiffer setup - if handling is what you are you might want to consider that as well.

Hey RHarris,

I was just wondering what anti-roll bars are you running? Does it really make the ride stiffer??? Thanx in advance.

Stevai

nemerkh
23-07-2009, 10:12 PM