PDA

View Full Version : Losing Power at 80-90mph!!!

kab
09-04-2007, 10:41 PM
I'm hoping someone can shed light on a curiously (potentially dangerous) problem I have with my golf. Its a 54 plate 1.4 fsi that loses power and jolts when I am driving at speed on the motorway. VW don't seem to be able to figure out what is going on and I'm no vehicle expert. It can drop in speed by about 5mph and seems to drag when I try to maintain my speed. Not a good thing when you are in the outside lane. I've tried using the 97 grade fuel but it makes no difference. Anyone had a similar problem that can help??? Thanks:1zhelp:

amz
09-04-2007, 11:33 PM
Hey Kab. If it's a 54 plate, you should still have until September 2007 to have the car checked under it's 3year warranty period. Sounds like a dangerous issue, for which you have a right to have it checked out.

Are you only having problems whilst travelling in speeds of over 80-90mph (be it speeding!), or are you also facing similar loss in power problems in other gears/speeds?

Eshrules
09-04-2007, 11:53 PM
ok, after a little research and understanding the difference between the FSI and the TSI....

you have a 1.4 FSI, ok... now, the highest BHP 1.4 FSI only pushes 88bhp, with a top speed of 110mph....

first thing to bear in mind, it may take a while to get to the top speed.

the symptoms you describe though, it certainly shouldnt be doing what you say it is. when you say it drops it speed, how exactly does this happen? are you requesting full throttle at the time?

also, it is only just 3 years old... get the car back to the dealer and request they investigate the fault, assuming you still have the supplier warranty, they will have to honour their obligation.:beerchug:

kab
12-04-2007, 09:01 PM