PDA

View Full Version : engine swap

sokbrock
09-04-2007, 10:02 PM
I got a 94 GTI with a stock 2.0l, 5 spd trans. I would like to swap a 1.8T and trans from a 00-04 model. Is there anything, becides wiring, that is preventing me from dropping it straight in? Will this new engine and trans fit with my body style?

RickT
09-04-2007, 11:13 PM
it will go in... however it wont just bolt into place if thats what you mean.

Have you done a engine swap before?

RicKT

Eshrules
09-04-2007, 11:16 PM
it will go in... however it wont just bolt into place if thats what you mean.

Have you done a engine swap before?

RicKT

i agree, im only a novice, but i realise the need for matching mounts and running gear.... what is being suggested here is not a small job.....

unless you've done one of these before, you're either looking at a shedload of graft and problems or a very big bill....

you've got the obvious issue with the wiring loom and ECU, this on its own, will be a massive task and unless you are an autoelectrician, i see you having little choice other than to involve an expert...

ghee60
09-04-2007, 11:30 PM
i agree, im only a novice, but i realise the need for matching mounts and running gear.... what is being suggested here is not a small job.....

unless you've done one of these before, you're either looking at a shedload of graft and problems or a very big bill....

you've got the obvious issue with the wiring loom and ECU, this on its own, will be a massive task and unless you are an autoelectrician, i see you having little choice other than to involve an expert...

it will bolt straight in, mounts are the same. ud need the box off the 1.8t but that should drop straight in. The wiring isnt too much hassle but you will need someway to disable the immobiliser(transponder keys)

Eshrules
09-04-2007, 11:41 PM