PDA

View Full Version : Running in

GTMan
07-06-2009, 11:27 AM
Greetings one and all. This is my first post here, so please be gentle.

I have ordered a Golf GT 1.4 TSI DSG in White and hope to get it in August.

My question is, should I follow the manufacturers instructions and take it easy or work the engine (carefully) aka http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm or even http://www.ntnoa.org/enginebreakin.htm? This will ensure the piston rings are properly bedded into the cylinder walls.

There is also the way the engine management unit learns about the new engine. If you are too gentle with the engine at the start it may not know how to handle using max power later in life, it all depends on how the ECU was designed......

I am an electronics design engineer and used to work for Lotus so I know a little about the subject, but not enough! I wondered whether there are any mechanical design engineers out there (especially from VWAudi) who could comment?

netherfield
07-06-2009, 05:57 PM
I was told that VW engines don't need running in,just work them straight from the word go.

In fact I think modern engines will suffer from being treated too gently it can glaze the bores.

GTMan
07-06-2009, 07:12 PM
Whilst it is true that engine tolerances etc are much better these days reducing the need for "running in", the rings still need to provide a good seal to the cylinder wall and to do that you need gas pressure ie load. Unless VW (etc) actually do proper dyno running in, I cannot see how a new engine is completely ready for use.

The site suggests building the load/RPM up, albeit quite quickly and never to keep the same load/RPM for long. Only when this is done is the engine truly ready...

lainux
07-06-2009, 08:10 PM
Hi just got myGolf MK6 TSI yesterday and was told to drive the car normally and that there is no need to run the engine.

Griff449
07-06-2009, 09:23 PM